About Kenya


Million population


Urban population


Human Development Index


Median age

The Governance Structure


The Government of Kenya is led by President Uhuru Kenyatta who is the Commander in Chief of the Armed forces, and Deputy president William Ruto,  having been elected in the 4th March 2013 under the Jubilee coalition. The National Executive is also made up of 18 Cabinet Ministers, the Attorney General and Director of Public prosecution. The Legislature has 337 Members of Parliament and 67 Senators, having adopted a bi-cameral legislature in the new constitution. The independent Judiciary is made up of the Supreme court, Highcourt and the subordinate courts ( Magistrate, Kadhi’s Court and Courts Marshals). 

The country has also adopted a devolved system of governance that is managed by 47 Governors for each county to ensure equitable distribution of national and local resources and promote citizen participation in decision making on issues that affect them at the local level.


The country has area coverage of 582,646 sq. km and is divided into 47 administrative counties in accordance to the new constitution.  The climate is diverse and ranges from tropical in the south, west and central regions, arid and semi-arid in the north and north eastern regions. In respect to the terrain of the country, Kenya rises from a low coastal plain on the Indian Ocean in a series of mountain ridges and plateaus which stand above 3,000 meters (9,000 ft.) in the center of the country. The Rift Valley bisects the country above Nairobi, opening up to a broad arid plain in the north. The highlands cover the south before descending to the shores of Lake Victoria in the west.


It is estimated 26.4% of the population live in urban areas. Kenya is mainly an agricultural country producing tea, coffee, maize, horticulture and sugarcane. Other economic activities revolve around tourism, service sector, transport and communication as well as, to a limited extent, mining.

The Vision 2030

 Vision 2030Vision 2030 logo

The Kenya Vision 2030 is the national long-term development blue-print that aims to transform Kenya into a newly industrialising, middle-income country providing a high quality of life to all its citizens by 2030 in a clean and secure environment.

The Vision comprises of three key pillars: Economic; Social; and Political. The Economic Pillar aims to achieve an average economic growth rate of 10 per cent per annum and sustaining the same until 2030. The Social Pillar seeks to engender just, cohesive and equitable social development in a clean and secure environment, while the Political Pillar aims to realise an issue-based, people-centred, result-oriented and accountable democratic system.

The three pillars are anchored on the foundations of macroeconomic stability; infrastructural development; Science, Technology and Innovation (STI); Land Reforms; Human Resources Development; Security and Public Sector Reforms

UNDP Around the world